Posted in Lessons learned, Running, Training

NYC marathon training Update #1

I am 2.5 weeks into training for my marathon and so far so good.  I bought new running shoes as a treat to my feet. I picked out a training program that seemed realistic, but also pushed myself out of the comfort zone a bit. And I also told myself that it would not be the end of the world if I couldn’t stick to that program 100%.

What have I learned so far?

Motivation is key. There are definitely days where I’ll drag my feet and make excuses all day to convince myself that I don’t need to run. For the most part, I’ve been good. I have missed a run or two, but eh, we’re only human. Some of my motivators? Treating myself with new running apparel, a new add on rack for my medals, or even trying a new mobile running application like Zombies Run. (Try it. It’s fun.) I have also tried Mapmyrun in the past and am currently using Nike+’s application to track my runs. Competition motivates me and being able to compare my activity to the rest of the Nike+ users is useful.

You have to make TIME. This is where a training program is kind of handy. If my schedule says I have to log 6 miles that day, you bet I will try and log in those 6 miles even if that meant logging 3 miles in the morning and 3 miles in the evening. Logging in those miles is important to get your feet used to the wear and tear of hitting the pavement. I’m also one of those people that take pride in crossing off something on a to do list.

I’m off to a good start and hopefully I’ll be able to keep it going. Will update in a few weeks. 🙂

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

2 thoughts on “NYC marathon training Update #1

Leave a Reply

