Posted in Running, Thoughts, Training

NYC marathon training update #2

It’s week 5 of my training program and I’m still going strong. I had a minor setback last weekend when I fell short of my 10 mile run by about 6 miles, but that’s okay. I had met all of my mileage criteria for last week except for my long run, which was unfortunate, but after a few years of consistently running, I’ve found that you just kind of have to roll with the punches. You may have bad runs or even miss them altogether due to an injury or just bad planning, but that’s okay. You will recover.

While reflecting on my missed goal, I realized that I’ve definitely come a long way from just a few years ago. Friends of mine will tell you that back then, three miles was a lot for me. I struggled with running and staying on pace with them and I’d constantly have to ask them to slow down for me. But now, I’m better. I’m stronger. I can run half marathons just fine and I can even run some of them without stopping  – even though I may want to. And now, I’m training for my first marathon. What is this craziness? To commemorate how far I’ve come, here are my medals below. I think it’s time I get a new medal rack, don’t you think? 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

Leave a Reply

