Posted in Running, Thoughts

Motivating Mondays – What keeps me running

Whether it’s to lose weight, de-stress, or just have fun, every runner has a reason for why they run and more importantly, keep running.

Here are a few of my tricks for staying on top of my running and hopefully, they’ll help put a few bounces in your step.

  1. Make a goal. And stick to it. I would stay away from weight loss goals in particular since a lot of people gain weight while running due mostly to muscle gain and that could deter you. My goals are usually race based. I try to schedule a half marathon every other month so I’ll continuously have something to push myself towards. I will also often print out a training plan that is challenging and modify accordingly. I just love crossing out to do lists so this is a big motivator for me.
  2.  Provide incentives for yourself. Since I started marathon training, I’ve bought myself a few things here and there to keep the motivation strong. You’re pushing your body to the limits. Why not treat yourself to nice things?
    IMG_5948
    A new medal rack from Allied Medal Hangers that I bought a few weeks ago to keep me motivated

    IMG_5942
    A new pair of running shoes to treat my feet
  3. Join a running club. Okay, I haven’t actually done this one due to time constraints, but it’s something I hope to do in the future. I have attended Adventure Runs that are held by Road Runner Sports though and those are great. You’re surrounded by all types of runners/walkers who just want to get out there, get fit and also get freebies at the same time. It’s a win win situation.
  4. If you don’t have time to join a running club, find a running buddy or two. Even if you’re not the type of person that likes to talk while running, having a running buddy can keep you motivated and it is also a safer option than running alone. If your schedule is just too hectic and it’s easier to run alone, make a pact with your friend to run x amount of miles or do what I did – make a bet with them.* It worked wonders for me. I had bet a friend of mine that I could run more than he could in a span of 2 months. The one who ran the least would treat the other person out to sushi. Sushi is not cheap! I’m a competitive person so I ran my short little legs off during those two months. In the end, I lost – by a lot actually, but that bet pushed me to run way more than I originally thought I could. I will always be forever grateful for making that bet.
  5. And last but not least, be patient with yourself. Nobody just got up and ran x amount of miles just like that. Your life isn’t like that one episode in How I Met Your Mother where Barney ups and runs a marathon. Also, don’t forget the fact that he couldn’t move his legs after that marathon. No, real progress takes a lot of hard work and time. It’s okay to take two steps forward and one step back or even 4 steps back. As long as you keep taking those steps.

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

8 thoughts on “Motivating Mondays – What keeps me running

  1. Those shoes are dope 👍 personally,I’ve never been into running enough to make it a daily routine. My daughter on the other hand just completed her third season in cross country (she’s in 5th grade) and she absolutely loves it. I can appreciate the draw, ambition, and motivation and I think you’ve done a good job describing the same things my 10 year old attempts to tell me about. 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely, if nothing else it builds comradery. I see these girls slowing down to run together in their meets, it’s a beautiful thing. Andrea definitely runs best with a partner! I’m impressed with her ambition. We’ve never tried to force extracurriculars, but it is a rule that if they start a season they have to finish it. She chooses to sign up every year 😊 if only I could see that sort of dedication with her chores.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. What’s undertrained? And which half marathon? I’ve definitely run one undertrained and although, I regretted the actual running part, the medal totally made up for it. 🙂 I used to reward myself with all you can eat KBBQ after half marathons. It was the best decision ever.

      Like

Leave a Reply

