Posted in Running, Thoughts, Training

Marathon Monday – 17 miles long

golem

Credit to duffrunning for posting this on her blog awhile back.

I have been having Gollum like symptoms for the past few weeks. This past weekend was the worst. I had signed up for a long run at a Nike Run Club event for Saturday, but ended up cancelling the night before because I chickened out. I was making excuses out the wazoo.

Excuse #1: What if none of the runners there were going to run 17 miles? I can’t run 17 miles on my own.

Excuse #2: What if they’re faster than me? I don’t want to be the slowest one there.

Excuse #3: Meet at 7:45 am? What? That’s so early. There’s no way can I get up that early.

Yep. That was Friday night me. I had completely psyched myself out. Luckily, my boyfriend was still willing to wake up and follow me around with a skateboard for 3+ hours and so I cancelled my RSVP for the event. Saturday morning rolls around and I’m still nervous as hell to run. Two weeks ago, I ran 16 miles and I was dying. How could I repeat that again + 1 more mile?

The answer?

By putting one foot in front of the other. I’m sure that’s how Gollum does it. It was really difficult to get over that mental barrier, but all I had to do was just start running and create little goals for myself along the way.

First, it was to keep my pacing slow. Slow and steady wins the race, right?

Then it was to pass the runner in front of me.

And then the next guy…

and then that puppy up ahead.

And in 3+ hours, I finished.

I was delirious. I couldn’t feel my legs. My boyfriend said I looked like I was going into shock, but honestly, it felt amazing to finish the mileage for the day. I was scared, but I got through it. I also promised myself to try the Nike Run Club once I return to more normal miles. 🙂 Now to figure out how to run 18 miles in two weeks…

Any suggestions?

If you enjoyed this post, please like it below. 🙂

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

2 thoughts on “Marathon Monday – 17 miles long

Leave a Reply

