Posted in Running, Thoughts, Training

Marathon Mondays -Missed mileage

Well, it happened.

I missed my target long run mileage of 18 miles yesterday.

By 5 miles. 

And in all honesty, I felt pretty crappy about it at first.

A friend of mine told me to try and not miss long runs. Miss the short runs if you have to, but don’t miss the long runs because that’s when you put your body to the test. It needs to get used to the wear and tear of hitting the pavement. And I agree with him. BUT…

Southern California has been experiencing an insane heat wave recently with a high of 97F/36C yesterday around noon. My long run usually takes place in the morning, but because of the heat, I decided to wait it out and run once it had cooled off. By 7 pm, I couldn’t wait any longer. It was getting really dark and with 18 miles, it would have taken me over 3 hours to run putting me in at around 10:30 pm. It was hovering around 84F/29C and didn’t seem to decrease so I bit the bullet. I pulled on my new mid calf compression socks and I went out for to run.

img_6182
Aren’t they pretty? Green is my favorite color. These are VitalSox graduated compression socks.

I won’t bore you with the details of the run, but in short, I don’t do well in heat. I had gotten a side stitch early on in the run, my ankle hurt, and I was trying to not overheat; it wasn’t a good combination. I ended up stopping at 13 miles because…

1. I didn’t want to seriously injure myself.

2. It was getting really dark out.

Safety first, guys and gals.

Anyway, despite missing my target mileage, I’m still glad that I made an effort to run and I’m very proud of myself for putting in 13 miles. Really though. A year ago, you couldn’t get me to go out and run 13 miles without giving me a nice shiny medal. And now, I can do it without a medal in the blistering heat. Go me!

Also, good thing I didn’t try pushing my long run to today. It hit 108F/42C today. I would have died.

So tell me, how do you counteract the heat when running? Do you guys wear special cooling gear? Or just dump water all over yourselves? I’d love to know.

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

6 thoughts on “Marathon Mondays -Missed mileage

  1. Welcome to East Coast summer marathon training. We wake up early and head out to run by 5 or 6 am. Or you do a double by breaking up the run into two shorter runs to be done the same day. Doing a double isn’t ideal, but it’s better than nothing and it teaches your legs to run tired.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It is not fun but you get used to it. Somehow it makes the time pass quicker too. Just be safe and invest in light up gear to allow yourself to be seen!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t beat yourself up 13 miles is still a long ring even if you didn’t reach your target, yeah I’d have to agree heading out early in the morning is probably the best way to beat the heat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

