Posted in Running, Thoughts

Marathon Mondays – Back from Vacation

Oops! It’s been 3 weeks since my last progress report. Apologies! I was on vacation for almost two weeks in Europe and was recovering from crazy jet lag last week.

Updates from the last three weeks?

Running while abroad – I had read from a fellow blogger about her running adventure around her city. She ran around her city of Stirling, Scotland and took pictures of the sights she saw along the way. It seemed like a fun idea and so I thought I’d try it out while abroad. Things got kind of complicated during my travels, but I was able to try it out once while in Madrid at el Parque del Retiro. The park is one of the largest in Madrid and it’s extremely scenic. There are fountains, dog parks, flowers, and just random things to see along the way. I had a blast running around it.  Here are a few of those things that I saw:

I think that running around a new city is a wonderful way to explore, but please do your research. There are seedy neighborhoods in every city so just be aware of your surroundings. A friend of mine told me that his friend was running while abroad in South America and got run over by a bus. He assumed that the bus would stop and he ended up paying with his life.

Luckily, nothing like that happened to me while I ran, but I did have a scare while running. Some guy I had never met before stretched his arms out wide in an attempt to hug/grab me as I ran past him. I immediately dodged him and ran faster in the other direction and he fortunately did not run after me. So again, please do your research if you do want to run in a new city.

Returning from a break in training –  I didn’t train for two weeks while on vacation with the exception of my run around El Parque del Retiro mid vacation. I’ve been back a week now and I’m back to my normal running routine. I lost some endurance from not training and indulging in unhealthy foods for two weeks, but it wasn’t as bad as I expected. I’m a worrier and I really thought I’d lose all the hard work I’d put in for 15 weeks. Thankfully, that wasn’t the case.

I did a 13 mile long run this past Saturday and although it was tougher than normal, I made it through and am planning on powering through my maintenance runs this week.

20 mile mark and countdown to my marathon – I will be hitting the 20 mile mark this upcoming Saturday and I’m nervous as hell. I’m less than 3 weeks out from my marathon and I’m praying that I trained hard enough.

I’ve also been futzing around with different energy gels and trying to find a good combination. For those of you who have run marathons, what is your fueling regimen? What do you eat the morning of? What kind of gels do you use and how often do you refuel? Any suggestions/tips will be greatly appreciated? Thanks a million!

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

4 thoughts on “Marathon Mondays – Back from Vacation

  1. Morning of I usually just have some cereal or a granola bar, nothing to0 heavy. I’m usually running on adrenaline! In terms of gels, I like Honey Stinger: they’re organic and don’t upset my tummy. I use one 15 minutes before the race, and then every 45 minutes thereafter. I work at a running store, so if you have any questions about gels I’m a walking book. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your suggestions! Honey Stingers are quite good. I’ve tried their waffles and gummies, but haven’t tried their gels yet. I tried Hammer gels over the weekend and it was a little difficult to have without water. Not sure if that’s just a gel thing though. Do you think the Honey Stinger ones are better?

      Like

Leave a Reply

