Posted in Running

Marathon Monday – 20 miles conquered!

This past weekend, I ran my longest run yet – 20 MILES!

I’m extremely proud of myself since I wasn’t able to meet my 18 mile mark 4 weeks ago and then I went on vacation for 2 weeks during which I basically did little to no running. Then, there’s that frustrating 13 miler I had the week before last. Safe to say, I was extremely intimidated by a monstrous 20 miles heading into this past weekend.

BUT I DID IT

…with a little bit of flair, if I do say so myself.  I’m not one to toot my own horn, but toot toot! 🙂

Since this was my longest run before heading into the marathon, I decided to try and mimic race conditions to the best of my ability. I was visiting someone in LA this weekend and had to pack all of my running gear beforehand. The evening before my long run comes around, and I discover that I, being the forgetful person that I am, forgot to pack a sports bra. I quickly made a late night run to Target, grabbed a sports bra, and voila, disaster averted. Morning of, I had two large spoonfuls of peanut butter and a Honey Stinger’s organic waffle and out the door I went.

I started off at a comfortable pace at about a 11 min/mile. 5 miles breezed by. I thought – Easy peasy lemon squeezy. I took my first Hammer Gel – Espresso (50 mg) then and another 5 miles passed. At this point, I’m running along the gorgeous beach and having a blast. I was even practicing some of my dance moves along the route. I took another Hammer Gel – Chocolate 10 miles in and it turns out, chocolate is not my favorite flavor. It did the trick nonetheless and I powered on.

img_6884
I’m so lucky to be a west coast girl
My goal was to take a Hammer Gel every 5 miles, but around mile 14, my dear boyfriend, who graciously volunteered to carry water for me in this gigantic Thermos container while on his skateboard, needed a break. I wasn’t about to carry a huge Thermos full of water while on my run so I chugged some water and took my last energy gel before we parted. Nocciola (Hazelnut – Chocolate), I found out, was delicious! It gave me an extra energy/happy boost and I was well on my way to push through to mile 18.5 where I met back up with the boyfriend. And this is where it got tough. I don’t know if I hit the infamous wall or not, but I slowed down by almost a 2 minute/mile pace. Yikes! I blame my excitement. After passing mile 17, I was running the furthest I had ever run before. I got excited and sped up because at that point, I thought I could conquer the world. LOL. Yeah, that backfired in the last mile. In the end, I toughed out that last mile and finished 20 glorious miles and I couldn’t be happier. I had to stop myself from gloating so much in front of my boyfriend. I think it kind of annoyed him. HAH.

So now that I’ve told you about my  latest running conquest, why don’t you tell me about yours? I’m all ears. 🙂

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

3 thoughts on “Marathon Monday – 20 miles conquered!

Leave a Reply

