Posted in Running, Training

Marathon Monday – Taper time!

It’s Monday again and that means it’s time for another marathon update. This is my last week of “training” before I kick butt at the NYC marathon. Training is in quotes because last week and this week are taper weeks. taperingrunner_zpsac8cc122

For those of you who are unfamiliar with it,  tapering is reducing your exercise prior to a competition or race. It can take as little as a week or as long as three weeks prior to the competition. For more infomation on tapering (and the mistakes of tapering), here are a few articles by Runner’s World, Competitor, and Active.com.

Some runners are a bit cranky during taper weeks because they have the itch to run, but need to rest. I know the feeling well. Running destresses me and if I can’t run, I have all this stress build up. It’s no bueno for me.

This time though, I welcome tapering with open arms.

rest_day_crossfit_fibre
Catching up on all that sleep

I put in the hard work the last 18 or so weeks and this is now my time to rest (and boy do I need it). I did my last long run on 8 miles on Saturday and it was freaking tough. I felt a few aches in my knees and ankles, but made it through. Even walking today felt off. My goal this week is to run two short 4 milers today (Happy Halloweenie!) and Wednesday and I’m done until my marathon. Wish me luck! 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

8 thoughts on “Marathon Monday – Taper time!

Leave a Reply

