Posted in Running, Thoughts

Lesson of the day: Crosstrain!

It’s been two weeks since my marathon and I haven’t exactly returned to my regular workout schedule yet. I’ve been feeling sluggish and unmotivated so I decided to give myself a kick in the butt. Luckily, CKO Kickboxing, a cardio kickboxing gym I used to frequent a few years back, was having a #FreeFitnessFridays promotion for the month of November and after convincing a friend that it’d be fun, we went last Friday.

img_7135
Us pre-workout
img_7137
Us post-workout. Don’t we sweat pretty? 😛

Going in, I thought I would be okay. I logged in over 500 miles in the past 5 months. I completed the marathon without any stops and with a negative split. Surely I’d be equipped to handle a kickboxing class.

I was wrong;

so very wrong.

That class kicked my sorry butt. For an hour, I was doing non-contact, heavy bag work mixed in with some body weight squats (ugh…I hate squats), push ups, and core workouts. And after one hour, I was sore all over. My arms felt like jelly and I actually took a few minutes to rest before driving off because I was afraid my arms would just fall off. I know. I’m dramatic, but that’s what it felt like. Even now, after 3 days, my arms and hamstrings are still extremely sore.

Looking back on my marathon training, I did notice a large loss of upper body strength. I would have been able to lift certain weights with ease, but towards the end of my training, it was significantly much more difficult to lift it. I was focused solely on hitting the required mileage each week that everything else was kind of left by the wayside. Oops.

So I think the lesson of the day is that I need to crosstrain. Runner’s World came out with an article on the benefits of cross training and after reading it, I think I will give it a shot. Maybe one day, I’ll be fit enough to run a triathalon. 🙂

So what forms of exercise do you do? Do you find that crosstraining helps you? I’d love to hear about it. 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

12 thoughts on “Lesson of the day: Crosstrain!

Leave a Reply

