Posted in Race Reports, Running

Streaking, Turkey Trots, and a Black Friday score!

With only a few days until December, I will start by prematurely saying HAPPY HOLIDAYS! YAY!!!happy-holiday-penguin-xdv

December is probably one of my favorite months. All the holiday decor, the food, and all the gift giving/good cheer puts me in such a great mood.

Turkey Trot

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I kicked off mine with the San Diego South Bay Turkey Trot (15K). I had previously run the 10K Turkey Trot a few years ago, but wanted an extra challenge so I upped it to the 15k this year. The 15k also takes me really close to my old neighborhood so I thought why not? It was great running weather. Crisp air. Beautiful grassy start area. img_7148

But the HILLS. Oh the HILLS. I have never hated my neighborhood hills more. Driving along those hills all those years seemed easy peasy. Running up them? Not so much. I’m happy to report that I didn’t walk any part of the race. There were many MANY moments of weakness, but let’s not focus on those moments, shall we? 🙂 I placed 4th out of 17 in my division with a pace of 9:17. Not too shabby for having run much since my marathon. 🙂

Streaking

Following this 15k, I continued with a feast of yummy food and some STREAKING. A run streak that is. 🙂  Runner’s World has this run streak event every year as sort of a way to combat the typical holiday sluggishness. You run at least a mile a day starting on Thanksgiving and finishing up on New Years day. That’s 39 days of consecutive running. I initially thought it’d be easy, but after 4 days, I’m already pretty tired. I was up in LA and had forgotten all of my running clothes. Determined to not break my streak so early in the game, I ran with some jean shorts and a regular t-shirt. It was not pretty, but I did it. rwrunstreak1to4

Black Friday Shopping

Last, but not least, my black Friday shopping. I’m not much of a shopper, but this black Friday, I got sucked into a deal – a kick your butt kind of deal. I woke up early on Friday to go to my last #FreeFitnessFriday class at CKO kickboxing and wound up buying a 10 class pass for $100.

img_7166
After a great workout

A normal drop in class costs about $20 so this was kind of a good deal. At least, that’s what I told myself. At least, this will count towards my crosstraining efforts for next year. 🙂 Other than the 10 day pass, the rest of my shopping went to friends and family.

So how was your Thanksgiving weekend? Did you score some great deals? Are you also doing the #RWRunStreak? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

10 thoughts on “Streaking, Turkey Trots, and a Black Friday score!

Leave a Reply

