Posted in Thoughts, Traveling Adventures

Traveling Tuesdays – Enchanted: Forest of Light

While I was in LA over the past weekend, I came across something I must share with all of you.

Introducing Descanso Garden’s Enchanted: Forest of Light!

img_7181
Enchanted: Forest of Light

If you’re a fan of the Broad or LACMA and are a fan of nature and/or color, this is probably right up your alley. Enchanted: Forest of Light is a timed light display at Descanso Garden in Pasadena, CA happening from November 25th through January 8th. There are supposedly 10 distinct lighting displays, but when I went, we only encountered 8. Boo. Below were a few of my favorite exhibits.

img_7199
The tulips changed colors over time
img_7207
Symphony of Oaks

It’s about a mile long walk so it’ll take you an average of 45 minutes to 1 hour to walk around and enjoy the beauty of the exhibit. Trust me. Pictures do not do it justice. Some of the displays are interactive and you can take your little ones out to play. Hell, I’m in my late 20s and I had a blast playing with the displays. See my instagram for proof.

Tickets are $28 and it is a timed event so buy your tickets early (it is a rain or shine event). There are tickets on Goldstar and Groupon for $21 and $10 respectively for select dates if you don’t want to pay full price. We paid full price, but I don’t regret it one bit.

If you do go, I suggest the following: 

WEAR WARM CLOTHES – I can not stress this enough. Wear warm clothes! It gets really cold since it is an outdoor exhibit. Gloves ARE A MUST. They also sell light up gloves/fairy wings/tiaras/etc for the adults and kids. If you’re a tiara wearing kind of person, go for it. I won’t judge. 🙂

Bring a hot beverage in a thermos – I suggest hot chocolate. It will help you stay warm and you won’t be tempted to buy over priced drinks/food. $5 for a churro? Really?

Go when it’s really dark – The exhibit opens at 5 pm, but I think the contrast of the lights against the garden is better when it’s really dark. We went during the last time slot (8:30 – 8:45 pm) and the exhibit was just beautiful.

Dress pretty – If you’re a selfie taking kind of person, this is the place for you. There are a lot of opportunities to take selfies here.

img_7202
Smile! 🙂

So there you have it, my traveling find of the day. If you live in Southern California or are just in the area this holiday season, I’d recommend this exhibit. It’s fantastic.

Have you been to this exhibit or another one like it? Tell me all about it. 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

4 thoughts on “Traveling Tuesdays – Enchanted: Forest of Light

Leave a Reply

