Posted in Running

It’s Reset Time!

To say that I’ve been slacking off since my marathon is somewhat of an understatement. From July to October, I was averaging about 100 miles a month. I gave myself a break in November because hell, I ran a marathon. I scaled down to about 60 miles and ate whatever I wanted. Whatever my stomach desired, whether it be ramen, tacos, fried chicken, I ate it. It wasn’t healthy and I’m not proud of it, but I did it anyway. YOLO? Kidding. I was bad. Very bad. 😦

It’s December now and I don’t think I can keep using the “I ran a marathon. I deserve to slack off” excuse anymore. So I’m pressing reset. Most people reset on New Years, but I’ve always been early to things. Being early isn’t really a bad thing anyway, unless it’s to a college party. I have made that mistake one too many times. -_-rest-button

So anyway, I’m saying goodbye to the sluggish miles and saying hello to a more motivated and hopefully healthier me. 🙂 If only it were that easy, right? I’m optimistic though. I know that I’m capable of putting in the miles so I just need to convince my legs to get with it. Let’s ignore the healthier eating for a moment shall we? Convincing my tummy that healthy foods also equals yummy food is definitely going to be more difficult than just pressing reset.

I also have a half marathon coming up in two weeks so it’s probably a good time to get my butt into gear. 🙂

In other news, I joined the Brooks North Pole Run Club Challenge. Starting today until December 16th, my goal will be to log in 6 hours of running time on STRAVA. A few lucky runners will be given STRAVA premium memberships, Brooks gear and other holiday surprises. I do love surprises and Brooks gear so this is right up my alley. Wish me luck!

In other other news, my Runner’s World Run Streak progress below:
rwrunstreak5to11

It hasn’t been easy, but I managed to keep the run streak going. My work schedule has been really hectic lately and it’s been difficult to even put in a mile. After a 10 – 12 hour day, who in their right mind would want to run? LOL. I definitely didn’t, but I pushed through. I ran as fast as I possibly could that day and went home to sleep. I live an exciting life, don’t I? 😛

I hope that everyone is having a marvelous Monday. 🙂

Have you ever needed to press reset in your life? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

9 thoughts on “It’s Reset Time!

  1. Good for you! I love the idea of getting started with a resent now instead of waiting until new year. I’ve thought about doing something similar but this time of year is just a little too scattered and busy to focus on self improvement. I am forcing myself to stick to a running schedule but other than that, it makes more sense for me to just be a walking cliche and wait until January, when life calms down and I can ride the new year’s motivation high for a while :-).

    That said, don’t beat yourself up for “slacking” post marathon. It takes a few weeks for the body to fully recover from the marathon, and the more time off you give yourself, the better things will go when you resume training again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am unusually hard on myself when it comes to these kinds of things. I have so many things I want to achieve. I don’t like failing. Lol No one does.

      And I completely understand the craziness of December. Personally, I need two aspects of my life to be going well to counteract everything else and running has always been one of those aspects. Gotta keep with it.

      I hope you did well on your physics final! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

