Posted in Running, Thoughts

Friday Finds – Scavenger Hunts, Ornament Exchanges, and Tips on Having the Best Race Ever!

Woohoo! Happy Friday everyone!2db0cefd0ff79d561608929457085099

School has been extremely hectic lately and if I’m going to graduate by sometime next summer like my advisor suggested, I need to put in those hours on the bench. PhD, here I come. 🙂

Enough about work, let’s talk about happier and less stressful things…like running. 🙂 Surprise, surprise, right? I know. I’m super predictable. Before I get into it, I will say that none of the things mentioned below are affliated with me. I just like sharing awesome things with you all.

#RunChatHunt

If you’re a runner who would like to talk to fellow runners about all things running related, but can’t always make it out to a running club, then RunChat is a great alternative. Run Chat is a regularly scheduled Q&A format via Twitter chat. In addition to the chat hour, runners all over twitter will #RunChat as a way to connect with other runners, share blogs, and ask questions. They also have other events like #RunChat challenges and scavenger hunts. This month, they’re hosting a holiday themed scavenger hunt #RunChatHunt . You have from Thanksgiving to New Years to find the 12 items on their list. The items range from your typical runner sticker on a car to a Santa. 🙂 If you see one on your run, snap a photo and upload it onto twitter with #RunChatHunt and you’re entered into raffle for prizes. Each item uploaded earns you another entry. I’ve already snapped 4 photos today and I’m on a mission to complete the rest by Jan 1st! If you needed another reason to go out for a run, here is that reason. 🙂

img_7268
Item #4 – Body of water? Check!

WeRunSocial Ornament Exchange

I was out on a run the other day thinking that it’d be cool to have a gift exchange amongst runners. Turns out, someone already beat me to the idea. WeRunSocial is a group of runners from all around the world who’s social media game is high. They run and #WeRunSocial. They have meet ups at races and also sell their own #WeRunSocial gear. One event that they’re having is a WeRunSocial Ornament Exchange. Unfortunately, I couldn’t write this post fast enough and the deadline to sign up has already passed. Sorry guys! I’ll be better next time, I promise! Anyway, the idea is that you sign up for the ornament exchange through Elfster and are assigned a name in return. You buy an ornament that kind of represents you and mail it to them by a certain date. Isn’t that kind of neat? I signed up for it and I’m excited to see what kind of ornament I’ll get. I will report back once I get it.

Tips for Having Your Best Race Ever

I read the above blog post the other day and just wanted to share. Marathonandsprint outlines her suggestions for having the best race ever in 15 bullet points and every one of them made me laugh. Hopefully, all of our races are as amazing as hers was.

So those are my friday finds of the week. 🙂 I hope you enjoyed them. Have an amazing weekend!

What are some cool things you’ve found lately? And are you in some type of running club? Do they host cool things like those I’ve mentioned? 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

Leave a Reply

