Posted in Running, Thoughts, Training

Happy Monday! – A recap of last week’s shenanigans

Hi guys and gals! It’s a new week. Let’s get excited, shall we? It’s another week to get stuff done and become a better version of you. 🙂 Let’s do this!

Last week was full of delicious food and good friends. Mendicino farms, an LA based sandwich restaurant, opened up in my area and I was able to snag a complimentary meal for me and 3 of my friends during their training session. Woohoo! Free food!

img_7251
At Mendicino Farms

I also went to a Yelp event at Hard Rock Cafe and had a blast eating and mingling with fellow yelpers.

31371774702_41d6fdfe59_z
At Hard Rock Cafe for a Yelp event

I also had a holiday lab lunch at Piatti‘s with my colleagues. No picture with my colleagues, but I did snap a photo of my delicious meal.

img_7269
Linguini with mussels, clams, fish, calamari in a tomato basil sauce

On my running progress, I’m doing a lot better than previous weeks. I think my running mojo has returned. Hooray! I logged in 31.1 miles last week. That’s on par with my marathon training schedule so I’m a happy runner. 😀

rwrunstreak12to18
My mileage last week

It’s amazing what happens when I challenge myself. 🙂 If you remember from my last post, I’m doing quite a few of them to make sure I don’t slack off this holiday season. I’m halfway through my #RWRunStreak and 1 hour and 10 minutes away from completing the NorthPoleRunClub (NPRC) challenge. Running everyday has been extremely challenging (I guess that’s why they call it a challenge), but I’m doing it. 🙂 It also helps that I have extra challenges to complete so I have more of an incentive to do it. I checked 2 more items off the #RunChatHunt during my long run too.

img_7274
My runner sticker on a car entry

My running will decrease this week as I’m tapering for the San Diego Holiday Half. BOO. It’s for the best though. I need to rest up for the race. bjm4nyeimaajrdz

So there you have it, my recap of last week’s shenanigans.

How was your week? Did you do anything fun? Any races you’re looking forward to? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

6 thoughts on “Happy Monday! – A recap of last week’s shenanigans

    1. Thank you! Getting healthy is always better than coughing up a long while on a run. And I’m sure Strava will have future challenges along the way where you’ll crush it. 🙂 Have a speedy recovery!

      Like

Leave a Reply

