Posted in Running, Thoughts

Running In the Dark

I’m most definitely a night runner, but that is not what this post is about.

Today, I wanted to talk to you about depression. I want to be insightful or thought provoking, but I’ve never been extremely good with words. So I guess you’ll just have to deal with my ramblings for now. 🙂

A few of you know this, but I started running as a way to cope with bouts of depression. Running was my way of taking back my life and in a lot of ways, it helped me realize that I’m stronger than I thought. With the holidays in full swing, depression has been on my mind more often. Not because I’m currently experiencing it, but because I genuinely believe it’s something that is often overlooked during this time of year.

Remember that not everyone is having a happy holiday season. 

There are people who are battling their own demons and sometimes, the holidays make it worse. I know. Believe me. I experienced it first hand a few years ago. I couldn’t get out of bed and it took the jaws of life and a lot of caring people to get me back up and running (mentally and physically). Here are a few blog posts I came across and wanted to share –

A Reason to Run

Running from Darkness

Strategies for a stress-free Christmas

I guess what I’m trying to say is…Be there for one another. Reach out. Be kind. You never know what others are going through and you could just make someone’s day by saying a few words to them. And don’t just stop with the holidays. Keep it going through the new year and hopefully, for the rest of your life. With all the hate recently, I think the world could use a bit more kindness. 🙂 I’ll leave you with these signs that students around my university made during their finals week. They made me smile and I hope they make your day a bit brighter. 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

img_7308

img_7307

img_7304

Have you ever been depressed? How did you cope? Will you be kinder this upcoming year? I know I will.

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

11 thoughts on “Running In the Dark

  1. Be kind because everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about…I think that is how the saying goes? LOL Anyway…I am definitely not a night runner but I do enjoy changing it up every now and again. My morning run is TRULY like my cup of coffee for the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s a saying that more people need to live by. 🙂 I wish I could run in the morning, but running makes me sleepy afterwards. LOL. So no bueno. I do morning runs on the weekends though. Need the evenings to paint the town. 😛

      Like

  2. I initially started running as a way to cope with PTSD. My boyfriend “coached” me, and helped me improve my splits and further my overall distance. Even now, if I go through what I call a “wave” of PTSD I’ll go for a run. Strength training is also nice too if you need to get out a little negative energy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your story! I’m glad that it’s helped you so much. I also did cardio kickboxing as a way to rid of some negative energy. I punched and kicked a bag for an hour 3 – 4x a week and it worked wonders. I will try out strength training next year. It’s one of my resolutions. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I started running because I’d signed up for a half marathon, the health benefits, including mental health were a complete surprise to me and now I recommend running to everyone I know that has struggles with depression or similar!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. One of the reasons I started running was because my youngest son was diagnosed with Autism and I wasn’t sure exactly how to process it. So I ran. And now it’s 5 years later and I just haven’t stopped. It’s definitely therapeutic for me. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

