Posted in Running, Thoughts

A Week of Excitement – Ornament Exchanges, Marathoner Maps, and Clothing Swaps

Wowee. December is just passing me by. Seriously, December? I need you to calm down for a bit so I can sip my egg nog and hibernate for a bit longer before the new year. That being said, I am having a very exciting month. Let’s re-cap my last week, shall we?

Ornament Exchange –  I mentioned this a few weeks ago (here), but for those of you who didn’t know, I participated in an ornament exchange (organized by WeRunSocial) with fellow runners this year. Last week, I sent my ornament to my giftee Linzie and a few days later, I received one from my gifter, Kristin.

 

Aren’t the ornaments awesome? This event was such a fantastic idea and I hope that they do it again next year. Spread the holiday cheer! 🙂

Also, I didn’t mention this before, but I wasn’t originally going to do this ornament exchange. I’ve always been pretty frugal, but after deciding to stop being a Grinch , I RSVPed for the event. And you know what? I’m SO GLAD I did. Linzie loved his ornament and I couldn’t be more thrilled with mine. Even the running shoes that came with the snowman match my pair of running shoes. How cool is that?

Marathoner Maps – Over the weekend, I got an email saying from Carlee saying that I had won one of her #12daysofCarleesChristmas giveaways. What did I win?

nycmarathonermap
NYC Marathoner map

I won a marathoner map from RunInk! RunInk specializes in making marathoner (and half marathoner) maps and other items as a way to commemorate your race.

“Run Ink’s personalized print series, “Marathoner Maps” was created in 2014 as a response to the Boston Marathon bombings. Studio owner, Jennifer Hill, wanted to make something that brought the focus back to the runner and their race experience. Each Marathoner Map includes the runner’s name, time and bib number as well as details about the race and the race course.” – RunInk.net

I chose to commemorate my very first marathon, the NYC marathon and I just can’t wait for mine to come in. YAY!

Clothing Swap – Also, during the weekend, I participated in a clothing swap event with friends. For those of you who don’t know, a clothing swap is an event where people bring their old clothes – ones that they don’t wear anymore – and exchange them with one another. It’s a fantastic idea for those who want to change up their wardrobe, but may not necessarily have the money to do so.

At my friend’s event, women brought gently worned shoes, tops, jeans, dresses (lots of them), jewelry, and outerwear. We initially took a look around as all the clothes were being hung and then, we each took a turn to pick something out to keep. After a bit, it was a free for all and people were throwing clothes left and right into their pile. LOL (Some events have rounds, which makes it a lot calmer, but hey, we love chaos haha). In the end, I walked away with 8 articles of clothing, 2 pairs of shoes, and a necklace. I’m stoked to mix and match my new and old clothes in the upcoming days. 🙂 Here are a few of my steals below:

img_7342
(left to right) A Houndstooth poncho, a vest, and a jacket to keep me warm this winter

As a note: It is a lot easier to have a clothing swap if everyone is around the same build or shoe size (if you’re a shoe lover).

I also ran a half marathon this past weekend, but that will require a post of its own because hint hint; it involves a personal best. WOOHOO!

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun? Any presents you’re looking forward to getting? 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

6 thoughts on “A Week of Excitement – Ornament Exchanges, Marathoner Maps, and Clothing Swaps

    1. I know what you mean. I’m like that all the time. I spend so much time thinking about it and then ultimately buy it in the end. I’m trying to just bite the bullet and buy the things that make me happy (and still not be broke). Haha you should get yourself one if it makes you happy. And as long as you finished for sure. 🙂 Let me know if you end up getting one. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

