Posted in Running

The Streak is Strong with This One

So I realized that last week, I forgot to update all you lovelies on my RWRunStreak progress. And without further ado, my progress:

rwrunstreak19to33

It’s been tough with the holidays and work has been busy as ever, but fear not; I’m working hard to keep the streak alive. Even if that means running in the rain, which I did. I even ran on Christmas with my pup.

mochi
Isn’t she adorable?

She was a little reluctant to follow me, but once we got into a groove, she was happily trailing along. That is, until she saw my mom and went running after her. That was an interesting run. I didn’t realize how fast or strong my pup was.

Anyway, on January 1st, I was planning on taking a much needed break before returning full force for training for my upcoming races, but I recently came across something called Streak Runners International. If you run streak for more than a year, you can join the streak registry. There are people on the registry that have run for 45+ years. That’s INSANE. Even if that was a mile a day, that’s 16,425+ miles and I’m pretty sure these people weren’t just doing a mile a day. My mind is just blown right now. Do I stop January 1st or keep the streak alive?

What do you all think? Have you ever done a run streak? If so, for how long? 

*Edited: RIP Carrie Fisher. I titled my post the day before the news broke. 😦 I’m ready for 2017 to start now. Are you?*

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

13 thoughts on “The Streak is Strong with This One

    1. Thank you! You should try it sometime. Someone told me they started the RWRunStreak and 2 years later, they were still streaking. It’s a dangerous slope. I’m already thinking about doing it for the year so I could join that registry. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great job! I tried a December run streak once and my body does not like it, at all. I have some crazy friends who have 2,3, and even 4 year run streaks. That’s 1,000+ days! The only way you get there is one day at a time. Your doing great

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah. I’m not sure I’m meant for it either. I’m so tired all the time now. I guess I’ll decide on January 1st whether I’ll continue it or not. It would be nice to be on the registry for at least a year. And thanks, I love my dog. Funnily enough, we thought she’d be tiny when we got her. She just kept growing and growing. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, you! That is how my Streak started, with the RW Run Streak challenge. I was looking forward to Resting on Jan 1 but someone challenged me to Run Every Day in 2015, and I am still going. Everyone has different strengths and abilities and you are the only person who can decide if your body is designed for Streaking. If you continue you must commit to yoga and stretching to prevent injury. Don’t do the same run every day, vary your pace, ground surface, elevation, etc. And most of all Have Fun with it. It is supposed to be fun, not a chore ( but some days will feel like a chore) Good luck. Run Streak Day 760

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s so inspiring! Thank you for all your advice. I will definitely take up more stretching and you next year. It’s one of my resolutions. Congrats on keeping your Streak up for so long! Did you sign up for that registry?

      Like

  3. I’ve never done a streak. My body could handle it just fine, but the appeal just isn’t there for me. I don’t want to feel obligated to run every day. Also, I just really hate the word “streak”.

    I think the question is: is being on this streak registry personally meaningful to you? Or is it something you’re doing just for the sake of doing it? I believe that is the key when setting goals, since they take a lot of perseverance and commitment. If it’s something you’re passionate about then I say yeah, tough it out and go for it. But if not…maybe it’s okay to let this one go and move on to something you can get more jazzed about. Remember, even if you stop on January 1, completing the RW Holiday Run Streak is still a great accomplishment!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make great points. I’m about 50/50 on the idea right now. It definitely wasn’t easy keeping the streak going and I was a lot more agitated those busy days where I felt like I had to run. I’ll think about it some more before deciding on a few resolutions. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

