Posted in Running, Thoughts

Reflection of 2016

New years is right around the corner! But before we get to resolutions, the end of the year is a time for reflection. Hopefully you all had a good 2016. And if you didn’t, no worries. 2017 is right around the corner and you can start fresh.

Since my year consisted mostly of running, I thought it’d be nice to look back at the progress I’ve made. One of my New Years Resolutions for 2016 was to run 50 more miles than 2015. In 2015, I ran 431 miles so in 2016, I had to run at least 481 miles. Here are my miles for 2016 assuming I meet my goals for tomorrow: 2016NumbersRunning.jpg

I think it’s safe to say that I blew that one out of the park. I had a bit of a lull from March to May, but then marathon training season began and I couldn’t stop. Even after the marathon was done in November, I didn’t really want to stop. Next year? I’m shooting for 1000 miles!

2016 was a great year for me (political issues aside).

  • This year, my experiments finally started working. HALLELUJAH! I’m expected to graduate next year and had they not worked, I’d be in complete meltdown mode right now.
  • I picked up blogging. I got a twitter account and got more involved with instagram. Through social media, I found a community of people that love running as much as I do (more so even) and they also like to talk/write about running too! With an unpredictable schedule, it’s incredibly difficult for me to schedule run meet ups with other people; So I’m extremely grateful for social media connecting me to other runners (which my boyfriend refers to as “my people“). And really, they kind of are.
  • And the obvious – completing a marathon, which was also a resolution for this year.

I had a blast 2016, but I guess we must part. 2017? Bring it on!

How was your 2016? Anything noteworthy? Are you ready for 2017? 

 

 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

15 thoughts on “Reflection of 2016

  1. Social media and blogging is the same for me- a great community of people. It’s amazing to know that people have your back, especially when things go wrong. Good job on the marathon too. Sometimes as runners, when we’re surrounded by a million other people marathon training, we forget how big a deal it is. But it is a big deal!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I do hope that my experiments continue to work. One of them has been acting up a bit and I’ve been working night and day trying to get it to work before the new year. I think I finally got it to work with one day to spare. Hooray! Now to look for a job. Hmm.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your upcoming graduations! 1, 000 miles sounds like a great goal for you. Good luck with all of your goals. I have fell in love with my local running community and look forward to my new blog/social media adventures so I can extend my love to our global running community. It’s been super short, so far but I haven’t been disappointed. Happy New Year and Happy Blogging adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

