Posted in Running

Hello 2017! I’m going to own you.

Hello 2017! 2016 was a great year so let’s make this one an even better one, okay? I decided that this year, I’d go all out and make lots of goals for myself. You never know if you can do them if you don’t try, right? That’s what 2016 taught me. Below are some of my goals for the year.

2017-goals

Professional goals – Like the name implies, these goals are for my work life. I’m a graduate student in my 5th year. PhDs in our program typically take around 5 – 6 years to graduate. After year 7, we lose our funding so it’s implied that you must graduate before then. My advisor and I have discussed about graduating this summer so why not make it a goal and make it more attainable? 🙂

Although it’s never stated in the guidelines, students are expected to publish 1st author papers to graduate. It’s the “Publish or Perish” mentality. I am currently working on experiments for a paper so hopefully, I get published this year.

The obvious thing to do after I graduate is to get a job. More importantly, I want to get a job that I enjoy. I’ve been holding informational interviews with various people in the biology field and hope that I will be able to find one that suits me soon. The last two goals are to help me improve my productivity. I believe that by getting to work earlier, I’ll be more productive and less stressed. I also spend more time on Facebook than I’m willing to admit so cutting down on my time spent there should also be beneficial.

Fitness goals – In the words of Elle Woods, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t.” 🙂 It’s my favorite line of all time because it’s true. Exercise does make me a happier person and everyone deserves to be happy.

Last year’s goal was to just run 50 more miles than 2015. This year, I’m going to push my limits a bit more. I’m going to try and run 1000 miles. During those 1000 miles, I hope to finish my second marathon in Chicago, beat my PR in any distance, and run streak for at least 100 days. I finished the #RWRunStreak challenge on January 1st and was originally going to stop.

rwrunstreakday34to39
#RWRunSreak Challenge completed

On January 2nd, I went out for a run anyway. I didn’t feel tired. With the new year, I felt energized and decided to run streak for an additional 61 days. It will be tough, but I want to see how far I can push my limits. At 100 days, I’ll reevaluate and go from there. I do have a marathon to train for later in the year and I’ll definitely need to rest then.

My last three goals will be to strengthen my body overall. I’ve started lifting weights here and there and hope to round that out with stretching (possibly yoga) and eating healthier. Note that these goals are all miminums. If I do better than expected, then go me!

Happiness goals – I aim to be a happier version of myself and I hope the goals I’ve listed out will help me do just that. Blogging was extremely fun for me last year so I’ll continue to do it. It also helps me reorganize my thoughts and that’s always a good thing.

This year, I would like to try and give back to the community. I felt privileged growing up. I wasn’t wealthy, but my family got by just fine (with some occasional fundraising for team uniforms). I’m already scheduled to volunteer at a race later this month and I’m super excited to be the one giving out waters instead of getting them.

Last, but not least, I want to do another 100 Happy Day challenge. More often than not, we take what we have for granted and don’t appreciate the everyday things. I did this challenge a few years ago when sh*t was hitting the fan and it gave me a lot of perspective. I want to do it again sometime this year when things get too busy and I forget to just stop and enjoy what I have.

Woohoo! There you have it – my goals for 2017. What are your goals for this year? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

38 thoughts on “Hello 2017! I’m going to own you.

  1. I have a feeling you’re going to have an amazing 2017! Seeing you put all your goals out there is really motivating & they’re huge goals too! Lol I don’t have any race goals but I’m prob going to add one now 😄 I am also adding a lot more strength training to my fitness & doing more for my flexibility lol thanks for motivating me & I know you can achieve it all ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for such encouraging words and I’m glad that my goals motivated you. 🙂 My goals will be tough, but I have to try and putting them out there for people to see will give me some public accountability. Are you still doing blogilates?

      Like

      1. Congrats! I will probably publish, but I can’t handle the ups and downs of research. One day, I’m over the moon and gushing over results and the next day, it’s like hell froze over. On a totally unrelated note, I just read your about me and you’re a foodie too! I wish I had found your blog before I went to run the NYC marathon. I could have asked you for restaurants to hit up. 🙂

        Like

  2. Great goals! Good luck with graduating and publishing, I can only imagine how stressful that must be. You’re still streaking? Go you! I used to volunteer more at my old work location but then I transferred offices and things were harder. I really miss serving dinner at the homeless shelter but unfortunately I can’t do it on my own. I love volunteering at races though! It’s so much fun! And funny sometimes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great set of goals you have there. I like the Happy Day Challenge – we should all look to be happier. I’m interested in how you gauge that – are you just asking yourself as you go to sleep at night if you’ve had a happy day?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s actually where you find one thing that makes you happy that day and capture it in a picture somehow. I did it a few years back when I was feeling very down and it helped remind me that I didn’t have it so bad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

