Posted in Thoughts

Stressors

Do you ever have that feeling of not wanting to go out and face the world? You would much rather just chill out in your PJs, eat ice cream, and watch Netflix all day? Yeah? Last week, I had one of those days. I had a bunch of personal deadlines and very little time. The clutter in my room was driving me nuts and I just couldn’t deal with everything anymore.

And then came the minor breakdown.

thumb-depression-comic-3-ccfd6d4ae8ea37016dda171578a7ccf4
Living with anxiety and depression

It’s difficult to admit, especially to a bunch of people who don’t know me very well, but I didn’t want this blog to be a facade. I want it to be a genuine reflection of me. I’m not always upbeat and positive. I struggle with mild depression every so often and I’m just trying to figure out life as much as the next person. And that’s absolutely fine. We put way too much pressure on ourselves.

Everyone wants to be better. More attractive. More productive. Smarter. Faster. But on our quest to do all that, a lot of us forget that we also need to be more patient. Change doesn’t happen overnight and as long as you’re generally moving in the forward direction, you’re doing a-okay in my book.

I’m doing better this week so don’t you worry. Despite wanting to hide out in my room, I made the effort to keep going out for runs and I think that helped me a great deal. I will come back with happier thoughts in the next few days. If some of you follow me on instagram or twitter, you will already know that I got some good news last week and I will talk about it in my next post. Until then!

Have you ever experienced depression? How do you cope? 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

6 thoughts on “Stressors

  1. Glad you are doing better!

    I often go through bouts where I need to retreat from the online world. It really gets to be a bit much sometimes. Our social media feeds are constantly filled with people doing #allthethings and humble-bragging about their workouts and sometimes I just need to step back. There’s no shame in it, everyone needs space sometimes. I love my weekend time for this reason, I typically don’t read blogs or FB much on the weekends and it really helps me clear my head and feel more like myself for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s definitely that facade that everyone puts on where they make their lives seem a lot better than it really is. And I’m guilty of it as well. I should probably figure out a time where I just shut off from social media. All the input and my OCDness where I have to read all the notifications adds a lot of unnecessary stress.

      Like

Leave a Reply

