Posted in Running

Happy things – HoneyStinger, Smashrun, and BibChats galore

Last week, in the midst of my struggles, there were moments of happiness that pushed me through the rest of the week. Let’s discuss, shall we? ๐Ÿ™‚ The biggest news from last week hands down was getting this little email below:

honeystinger
I’m a HoneyStinger Ambassador!
HoneyStinger is one of my favorite energy fuels and I’m estatic that they allowed me to be a part of the #HSHive. When I trained for my first marathon, every long run started out with an organic waffle. Right before my first marathon, a fellow runner I had just met offered me their HoneyStinger Energy Chews for the caffeine. How much caffeine there actually was, we still don’t know to this day. LOL. And most recently, I tried their gel during the Holiday Half Marathon and I PRed. So really, I associate HoneyStinger with all good memories.

Another thing that brought a smile to my face last week was the discovery of SmashRun. Chelsea mentioned this in one of her blog posts. I thought it was pretty interesting and gave it a shot.

smashrun
SmashRun analyzes your run from STRAVA and other running apps
This is just a screen grab from my most recent run, but essentially what SmashRun does is that it takes your data from your running apps and breaks it down for you into interesting ways. It tells you what days you run the most, the least, etc. My favorite thing about SmashRun is where it tells you how many calories you burned and what that equates to food wise. I mean, who knew that 230 calories roughly equaled to an entire pineapple. SmashRun will give you something healthy like the pineapple and it will also give you something unhealthy like a tall Starbucks chai latte (which I totally appreciate). I like this aspect of the program so much that I’ve started turning it into a game. I’ll run some amount just to see what that equates to. It’s a lot more fun than googling it up. Honest. ๐Ÿ™‚

And my last happy thing of the week is BibRave on Twitter. BibRave.com is a place where you can review races. Think Yelp, but for runners. I’ve mentioned it in passing before, but talking to fellow runners on social media is kind of awesome. If you’re having a bad day and tweet about it, you’re going to get support from them especially if it’s running related. Every Tuesday at 6pm PST on Twitter, they have a #bibchat where they ask a series of questions during the hour and you respond to them. You can see other people’s responses and comment and sometimes, you even make friends. ๐Ÿ™‚ And with the 6+ races I’m running this year, I’m sure I’ll run into some of them in real life. ๐Ÿ™‚

Cheers to things that make you happy!

What made you happy this week? And have you tried Smashrun? Thoughts? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

9 thoughts on “Happy things – HoneyStinger, Smashrun, and BibChats galore

  1. Congrats on the ambassador! Do you know I’ve never tried Honey Stinger chews? I’m actually looking for another energy fuel because what I used to use was discontinued (long story), so I’ll give them a try. I know you’re on the west coast and I’m on the east coast, but where is the best place to buy them?

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

