Posted in Running, Thoughts

Giving Back – Race Edition

Happy Monday everyone! Did you all have a great weekend? I did! For those of you who follow me on Twitter or Instagram, you’ll know that I was at the Carlsbad Marathon yesterday. Only this time, I wasn’t running it. I was on the sidelines cheering everyone on!

img_7493
Everyone needs their own cheerleader now and again

At the beginning of this year, I made a promise to myself to give back more so I started to look for opportunities to do just that. Volunteering at a race was something I always thought about doing, but hadn’t had the chance to. That is, until yesterday.

I was originally signed up for a water station, but after some logistical snafu, I was placed in front of a driveway to prevent cars from driving onto the marathon course. While making sure no cars passed me (and no one did), I also cheered for all the marathoners that ran past. The part of the course I was stationed at was not an easy one. I was between mile 9 and 10, which had a lot of rolling hills. Some runners were breezing by while others were not doing so hot.

So I did my part and I cheered for every single person, even those that didn’t hear me. I gave thumbs up, waived my sign, and  yelled “BeastMode” to those that made eye contact with me. LOL. I didn’t even know anyone who ran the marathon course, but I could see everyone’s determination to run and I couldn’t help but cheer them on. Everyone needs their own personal cheerleader now and again, right?

I had a blast and can’t wait to do it again. Hopefully, I’ll be stationed at an aid station next time and get to hand out water to runners. 🙂

Now that I’ve told you about my weekend. How was yours? Also, have you volunteered at a race? What was your experience? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

21 thoughts on “Giving Back – Race Edition

  1. Like you, I plan to give back to the running community this year. I had the opportunity to do that on New Years Day at our Resolution Run. I was assigned to a water aid station and it was so much fun. This was a 5k fun event and I had a blast cheering people on. I think I would rather volunteer than race, and it’s cheaper. Definitely going to do this at a couple of local races this year.

    Like

    1. That’s awesome Diane! I really wanted to race more, but due to my budget, I couldn’t. I thought this would be the best way to stay involved in the running community and show them my support. Let me know how your future volunteer efforts go!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good for you! I’ve volunteered at a few races but it’s been a while and I was just thinking this should be the year I volunteer more at races. It’s something everyone that runs races should do at least once just for the experience to see some of what goes on “behind the scenes.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Every runner should do this! I took my kiddos with me, along with my nieces and nephews. We made signs and they had a blast. It was great to teach them about “giving back” and they learned a lot about types of runners and perseverance.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I truly love this, Mai! I try to get out to cheer at races as much as possible because I know how much it means to me as a runner to have people out there cheering for me. I bet everyone was very happy to see your smiling face out there!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yessss! One of my favorite races to cheer at is the Philadelphia Marathon – it’s just one of those things that is a great give and take from the crowd and the runners. It was ALMOST as good as running. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

