Posted in Running, Thoughts

My January Progress Report

Happy Monday again! I apologize for being a little MIA these past few weeks. I’ve taken on a few more responsibilities in grad school and I’m still adjusting to the changes. I hope to update more frequently, but I do apologize for not being around as often.

So what’s been going on in my running world, you may ask? Well, if you remember a few weeks ago, I wrote about my 2017 goals. My two main running goals are to run 1000 miles and complete a 100 day run streak. I am happy to report the following:

  • I’ve run 65 miles so far this month. To achieve this crazy goal of mine, I broke down the mileage down into more manageable chunks –  83.3 miles/month, 21 miles/week, or 2.74 miles/day. And miraculously enough, I’m still on track.
    happy-dance-disney-clipart-1
    Happy dance time

    Even with the rainy weather we’ve been having, I’ve managed to not fall behind. Hooray for me! I have 18.3 miles to go and I’m all set for January. In all honesty, I will probably try and log in more miles just in case of emergencies (e.g. injuries, illnesses, the apocalypse).

    janprogressreport
    From my SmashRun account
  • I am also 60 days into my streak, which started on Thanksgiving day with the #RWRunStreak. I am 40 days away from completing my streak and I’m super excited. Streaking for 60 days hasn’t been easy. I’ve run in all sorts of conditions – late night runs, runs in the rain, runs after food poisoning, and one run in a dress. I will admit, running in a dress was just poor planning. I forgot to bring my workout clothes and I needed to get my run in so I ran with what I wore that day. Thankfully, I borrowed someone’s water resistant jacket so it wasn’t too bad.
rainrunning
Logging in my miles in the rain before the storm hit

I also have a race coming up this weekend (The Great Chocolate Race), which I’m very excited for. It’ll be my first 10 mile race, my first race of the year, AND I get chocolate at the end of it. It can’t get any better than that. 🙂

How about you? How are your goals coming along? Any races coming up? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

9 thoughts on “My January Progress Report

    1. Thank you! My boyfriend’s water resistant jacket luckily covered up most of my dress so it didn’t look toooooo weird. I was pretty wet. I had to immediately change out of my clothes when I got home.

      Like

  1. It sounds like your January is going a whole lot better than mine is as far as running! I was sick with bronchitis last month and just when I was fully recovered, I got sick again last week, plus I’ve got this strange knee/shin pain that I can’t get worked out. I have a race next month so I hope all of this goes away soon so I can get back on track! Have fun at the chocolate race!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

