Posted in Race Reports, Running

The Great Chocolate Race (Long Beach) – Race Report

It’s February! Hooray! Can you believe it? I can’t. If only the next four years could pass just as fast. Hah!

Now, onto my race report. This past weekend, I ran the Great Chocolate Race in Long Beach, CA and I’ll just get right to it; I placed 3rd in my age group! Although it was most likely due to it being a smaller race, I’m still thrilled! I’ve never placed before in the top 3 before and I couldn’t believe the screen when I saw it.

img_7612
3rd place in my age group!

The Logistics

Cost – $32.50 ($42.50 with a Race Grader discount and an additional $10 off because I got 3 of my friends to sign up)

Distance – 5k or 10 mile (Yours truly ran the 10 mile)

Theme – CHOCOLATE!

Swag – Long sleeve technical tee, a box of godiva chocolates (4), and a shiny new medal

Location – Long Beach Convention Center and surrounding areas (waterfront)

My Experience

The day before the race, I decided to try and run an easy two miles. It turns out those two miles were nothing but easy. My feet felt like they were blocks of concrete and each step I took felt very tough. I ran a full min/mile slower than I normally would and it wasn’t intentional. I was as fast as my legs would let me go. It was frustrating, but I decided to brush it off and made the trip to pick up my bib. After picking up my bib, I made my way over to a friend’s and had dinner with friends. My main goals that night were to hydrate, stay optimistic, and get a good night’s sleep, which I thankfully did.

Morning of, I woke up a few minutes before my alarm. I put on my new Lululemon shirt that I got from the Lululemon 40/80 Strava challenge, Champion capris, Flipbelt, ate my favorite HoneyStinger waffle and was on my way.

img_7610
Sparklets from Momentum Jewelry and a Sparkly Soul headband to complete the outfit

The race had two distances, the 5k and the 10 mile. I ran the 10 mile. This race was really beautiful. I’m not sure what it was, but I really enjoyed the scenery. We started off at the Long Beach Convention center and made our way around the Rainbow Lagoon park. The lagoon was really calming and I think it really set my mood for the rest of the race because I wasn’t really focused on time.

rainbow-lagoon-park-long-beach-ca-34058
Rainbow Lagoon Park (Credit: Photorator)

I just focused on enjoying the course. We ran along the shoreline and there were just so many boats. We even saw the Queen Mary. Apologies for the lack of pictures. I wanted to really enjoy the moment and not have to take out my phone for photos. I ran this race with a few friends and as we crossed paths during the race, we would high five each other. My friend finished 5th overall and was even able to record me racing to the finish. Yay! I’m thankful for fast friends. Hah. Once I crossed the finish line, I grabbed my new shiny medal, my box of godiva chocolates, and went to watch my other friend finish.

img_7616
After grabbing my 3rd place medal, I had to get a photo taken.
img_7618
The swag from the race minus my technical tee. Oops.

All in all, I had a great time at this race. Would I run it again? Maybe. It is a 2 hour drive to get to so it’s a little inconvenient for me, but I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who is in the area to run it. The race was a great way to complete the month of January.

So how was your January? Did you run any races? Or are you training for a spring race? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

19 thoughts on “The Great Chocolate Race (Long Beach) – Race Report

  1. You rocked it Mai! This race sounds awesome and it makes me look forward to my chocolate race in April (although I won’t be getting Godiva – that’s very fancy!).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! I’m doing HC Philly and I’m really looking forward to it. Plus, it’s on my birthday! PLUS, I won’t be doing my cleanse. 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

