Posted in Running, Thoughts

Love Yourself

You’ll have to excuse me for quoting a Justin Bieber song, but I thought that in honor of Valentine’s Day, I thought it’d be appropriate to talk about love: more specifically, self-love. It is something I struggle with frequently. There are days where I feel on top of the world and then there are days where I wonder if I will ever amount to anything. Those days are the worst. So today, I’d like to focus on things that I love about myself, mentally and physically.

img_7841
– Katherine Henson

Wearing my heart on my sleeve  Growing up, I was constantly teased for being overly sensitive. My feelings were easily hurt and it got so bad that my so called “friends” “dumped” my butt for being so emotional. Looking back on it now, I wish someone had told me to ignore them and that being emotional wasn’t a bad thing. It took me a long time to accept and I’m still not 100% there yet, but I’ve grown fond of my emotions. If you’re someone I love, you will know it. If it’s something that I want badly, you know I’m going to go for it. This passion that I have for others and for running; It’s rooted in my emotions and I couldn’t be more grateful for it. Loving my body – Like most girls, I grew up idolizing models/celebrities. I wanted to be paler like the Korean pop stars. I wanted longer legs and a slim build. No matter how hard I tried and trust me, I tried. There was not enough papaya soap in the world to make my skin lighter and there was definitely no way, I was going to gain six inches in leg length.

Now that I’m a runner, I have found a new appreciation for my body. My body is a running machine and I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to realize this. My legs, once called “thunder thighs”, and my so called “cankles”are now what push me forward on a run. They destroy hills and can run for at least 26.2 miles. 🙂 Their strength and durability are their best attributes and I wouldn’t trade my legs for anything in the world. As for having lighter skin, well, I’ve grown to love my  freckles and tan complexion. I think it gives me character. freckles

Today, I am loving myself for being a badass. What are you loving yourself for today?

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

7 thoughts on “Love Yourself

  1. I’m catching up on reading all my favorite blogs so sorry for the late response but I just wanted to say that my son was “criticized” for being sensitive once and I told him this: I would rather care too much than care too little or not at all. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

