Posted in Running, Thoughts

My birthday wishlist!

Yikes! Where has February gone? February, although a bit cold, is my favorite month because well, it’s my birthday month. Hooray! And in honor of my birthday month and with my birthday coming up in 5 days (on the 27th), I thought it’d be a nice time to come up with a wish list for myself. And you know, if you wanted to get me something, I wouldn’t say no. 😀 I am, afterall, a lover of nice surprises and gifts. 🙂

Without further ado, my running wish list in no particular order.

  • Motivate Wraps from Momentum Jewelry – Overall, I try to be an optimistic person, but I also get overwhelmed very easily. That’s actually why my username is “If I just breathe.” When I get stressed out, I remember to take a deep breath and things will be okay.
    motivational-wrap-from-momentum-jewelry
    My favorite so far

    I love that this company makes jewelry with motivational sayings on them. I have a few Sparklets from them, but I’ve had my eye on their motivational wraps for some time now. One day, I’ll get one. 🙂

  • Chicago Marathoner Map from RunInk – I will make this little baby mine on October 8th give or take a few days depending on how I recover. LOL. Chicago will be my second full marathon and I’ve already decided to get a map for each of the 6 Abbott World Marathons I run. I already have a NYC marathoner map from this company and am just in love with it. Every time I see it, I’m reminded of all the blood, sweat, and tears I put into training and running the marathon; the reminder makes me incredibly happy.

    img_7483
    That’s my name in the upper right hand corner! 🙂
  • A pair of Ghost 9 (size 8) from Brooks or a pair of Vazee 2090 (size 8.5) from New Balance  – I am a lover of running shoes. That feeling when you try on a pair of new running shoes gives me a natural high. I’ve been running in Brook’s Ghost shoes for years now. They were the first real pair I trained in and they have kept me injury free. Back in December, I got my hands on a pair of the Vazee 2090s and fell in love with how fast I could go in them. With a year of 9+ races, I am definitely going to need new shoes. #runnerproblems

    ghost-9-and-vazee-2090
    Ghost (left) and Vazee 2090 (right)
  • Sparkly wide headbands from Sparkly Soul – Okay, let’s get down to it. My head sweats…a lot. I blame the long hair and the bangs. I love having bangs, but they’re not as nice when I’m pounding the pavement for 10+ miles and the sweat has hit my eyes and blinded me. LOL. I am, of course, exaggerating. It does sting a bit though. I have a headband from Sparkly Soul and I love it. It’s my go to headband 99% (because I forget to bring it 1% of the time) when I race. AND it doesn’t give me a headache like most headbands do. 🙂

    sparklysoul
    Who can resist a sparkly headband?
  • Gift card from Disney – I didn’t announce it officially, but if you follow me on instagram or twitter, you’ll know that I made the jump last week and signed up for the 5th annual Dopey challenge (5k on Thursday, 10k on Friday, 1/2 marathon on Saturday, and a marathon on Sunday). Thank goodness I did too because yesterday, the challenge sold out. Whew. Anyway, for those of you who know Disney, you know that Disney related things do NOT come cheap. Registration for the Dopey challenge alone cost me a little less than $600 and I still have to find a flight and lodging. Yikes. Therefore, a gift card would help. 🙂
    dopeychallenge
    Holy smokes. Did I really sign up for this?

    So there you have it – my personal wish list. What’s on your wish list? Any particular item I should look out for? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

21 thoughts on “My birthday wishlist!

  1. Happy birthday! Great list…big fan of the Ghost’s as well, currently running in 8’s (I think) and often rotate them with the Glycerin’s though I don’t care for my latest Glycerin’s as well. Those maps are way cool…I might have to look at those too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I really do love the Ghosts and they will always be my go to pair. 🙂 If you do end up getting a map, make sure to take a photo of it and post it on your blog! I love seeing all the different maps they make. I’m thinking about doing a custom one for the Disney marathon I’ll be running next January. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

