Posted in Running, Thoughts, Training

My plan for Carlsbad5000

Disclaimer: I received an entry into Rock N Roll’s Carlsbad5000 as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews! All opinions are my own. 

This upcoming weekend, I will be running the Rock N Roll Carlsbad5000. EEK! I’m pretty nervous about this race since training didn’t really go according to plan. Life kind of just happened and my mileage and motivation to run significantly decreased this month. 😦

When I originally signed up for the 5k, my plan was to try and beat my personal record. I haven’t PRed in the 5k distance in almost three years and I thought it might be time to try and PR again. I had also been beating PRs in longer distances so why not the 5k?

Well, I may have bit off a little more than I could chew. My current PR for the 5k is a 24:36. This means that I averaged a 7:55 min/mile for 3.1 miles. Holy crap. My training runs haven’t been anywhere close to that pace. I can usually hold that pace for a mile and a half and then I gas out. Sigh. If anything, I hope to at least beat my previous course record, which is 25:15. Fingers crossed.

The plan this week

  • Monday – Tuesday: Run the bulk of my miles (~10-12)
  • Wednesday: Begin tapering
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Pick up my bib and swag and do a shakeout run to get rid of nerves and loosen my muscles

    16252272_1223264037710315_5134499676052574189_o
    The design on the Carlsbad5000 shirt. Isn’t it pretty?
  • Sunday (Race day): Give it my all and hope for the best

Eek! Wish me luck! How about you? Are you racing this weekend? How are you kicking off April?  

 

 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

11 thoughts on “My plan for Carlsbad5000

  1. Yay! Race week!!! This looks like such a fun race just have fun. That said my 5K PR is from 2015 and I would love to break it this year but I only seem to PR when I am not thinking about it so I’m going to suggest that here- stop thinking about it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

