Posted in Running, Thoughts

And half of 2017 is over

And just like that, half of 2017 has passed. That’s kind of crazy, right? June was an intense month for me. My face is currently marked with pimples from all the stress I’ve been experiencing. LOL. It’s definitely been an interesting month. I’ll highlight just a few things I’ve been up to.

Graduate school – I had my pre-thesis defense meeting this month and it went better than expected. A committee member missed my meeting, but read the report I sent out a week earlier and supported my decision to graduate. Yay! I also finished my manuscript this month, or at least I thought I did. What is interesting about research is that it never really ends. Once you answer a question, several follow-up questions come up. It’s like a hydra only instead of chopping off heads, you’re answering research questions with no end in sight. LOL

After discussing some things, my advisor and I agreed to try a few more experiments to answer any possible questions my peers may have. If the experiments work, the data will further strengthen my conclusion. If it doesn’t, well at least I tried. πŸ™‚

I have also set my defense date for August 23rd. Holy crap. From now until August, I will be furiously writing my dissertation. Hopefully, all goes well and in less than two months, I will have a PhD. Yay!?! I’ve also been looking at jobs within the biotech industry at a few different companies and am praying that positions that I qualify for open up soon.

Escape room – I did not participate in an escape room this month, but I did attend an escape room enthusiast meet up. If you ever want to find a group of people with your particular interest/hobby, give this website a try. I had never gone to a meet up event prior to this event and when I arrive, I was pleasantly surprised. Like the description implied, this meet up was all about meeting with people who were interested in playing escape rooms. I had a lot of fun talking to new people about how many they had done and which rooms were there favorite. I even met people who had done 140+ escape rooms. That’s insane, right? I would never spend that much money on that many escape rooms…maybe for races. πŸ™‚

Visiting Texas – I visited my better half in Texas again and we did lots together. I went to the Hamilton Pool Preserve. This place is beautiful and I’d recommend anyone in the Austin area to pay a visit. Bring a swimsuit and swim around in the collapsed grotto. It’s totally worth it. But make sure you book way in advance. It fills up quick.

img_9933

Pictures don’t do it justice

img_9939

Path to the pool

If you’ve never heard of the greenbelt in Austin, check it out. I’m not a big nature fan, but I just had the greatest time running around this area. It was SO HOT (87Β°F) and HUMID, but I loved running in the area so much that my one mile run turned into four. A lot of people go paddleboarding on the river and some people bring their dogs to walk around as well if running isn’t your thing. πŸ™‚

img_9968
Running along the river on the greenbelt
I also dropped by the Bouldering Project for a little crosstraining. It was a great break from the heat and I had a fun time bouldering and challenging my fear of heights.

img_9946
So scared up there
Run Mai Run – This month was filled with running related events. I ran the San Diego Rock N Roll half marathon as my 14th half marathon. Woohoo! I didn’t beat my overall personal record (PR), but I did beat my course PR. πŸ™‚ June also marked the start of my marathon training for the Chicago marathon in October. For the next several months, I will be running my little legs off in hopes that I can run the marathon in under 4 hours. Eek! Also, if you remember way back when, one of my resolutions was to run 1000 miles in 2017. I am happy to report that I surpassed 500 miles a few days ago and am on track to finish before the year is over. Hooray!

So that’s my June in a nutshell. How was your June? Anything cool you’d like to tell me about? What’s in store for July?

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

10 thoughts on “And half of 2017 is over

      1. Oh wow, that’s a big group. I like smaller group sizes so people don’t feel left out and there are enough clues for everyone to try and figure out. I know the feeling of not finishing. I was so sad for a few days after not figuring out the last few clues.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wait, what – I didn’t even look at it as 2017 being half over until I just read that! OMG!

    There’s an escape room opening here that looks SO COOL. I did one before and had so much fun, I can’t wait for this one. I want to bring my family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a great June! Texas sounds like a lot of fun. I’ve always thought bouldering sounded like fun but there’s nowhere around here to go. At least that I know of. Congrats on the 500 miles- I am way behind where I though I would be by this time. Oops.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha well you’ve been running a lot longer than I have. I’m sure your overall mileage is still a lot more than mine. Bouldering is pretty fun, but I’m scared of heights so there are just moments where I’m in complete panic mode and can’t climb up or down. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

