Posted in Marathon Mondays, Running, Thoughts

Marathon Mondays – Week 3 of Chicago marathon training

Why hello again! There are officially 99 days left until the Chicago marathon and I am officially done with week 3 of training. Here’s how it went. 🙂

Monday (Rest) – Hah! I laughed in the face of rest. Just kidding. I couldn’t resist and took a cardio kickboxing class instead.img_0609-1

Tuesday (5 miles) – I woke up suspciously not sore. I went to work, did experiments, got frustrated at said experiments, and put in ~5 miles at the end of the day. 🙂

Wednesday (Rest) – Hallelujah! Rested. I woke up super sore, which was expected since I did kickboxing on Monday. It always takes my body two days to realize it’s in pain. LOL.

Thursday (3 miles) – Thankfully the soreness wore off and I was able to finish an easy 3ish miles.

Friday (3 miles) – I had upsetting conversations and was on the verge of having a break down. I decided to go on a 3 mile run and felt a lot better afterwards. Running works wonders for me.

Saturday (5 miles) – It was moving day for me so I quickly ran 4.5 miles early in the morning with my run group and off to move I went. I had intended on running the full 5, but I was on a tight schedule that morning and by the time I moved everything into my new place, I was pooped. I unpacked a good portion of my things and called it a night.

Sunday (5 miles) – Got up early, ran ~4.5 miles and called it. My run yesterday wasn’t that great, which worries me a bit.  Sundays haven’t been that great for me running wise so I hope my body can pull it together for the next 14 weeks. Long runs are supposed to be on Sundays and it’s only going to get harder from here. Ack.

Total mileage: 21 milesimg_0742


Thought of the week: These easy runs are supposed to be approximately a minute or two slower than my goal marathon pace. I’m a bit worried that I’m running too slow and my body has gotten used to it. When I try to speed up, I get really tired. Has anyone experienced this using Hanson’s marathon method or any other marathon training program? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

11 thoughts on “Marathon Mondays – Week 3 of Chicago marathon training

  1. I usually find that I tend to run slower than expected during my easy runs. However, when I run races around a similar distance as the easy runs, I tend to pick up the pace. I think that I’m a fast runner when there is a little competition involved.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I experienced the slowness during my marathon training. I think what helped me get faster post marathon was the fact that I started doing these fast one milers. Some days, I was too busy to run longer distances and so I ran one mile really fast and called it a day. It really helped with my time and I broke a sub 2 half soon afterwards.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope moving went well! I was aiming for a slower marathon time when I trained with Hansons so the easy runs were so hard to hit because they were so sloooooow but my intervals were all too fast and my tempos were all on target. Hmmm, I guess that puts me all over the place. I feel like it made slower post marathon though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I’ve been okay with the easy runs. I haven’t tried any interval or tempo runs so I guess we’ll have to see. I am worried about being slower post marathon, but let’s be hopeful and call that the recovery period. Haha Thanks for your telling me your experience. I’ve never done interval training so I’m pouring over the book to figure out how it’s done. LOL.

      Like

Leave a Reply

