Posted in Discount Codes, Running, Thoughts

Top 5 reasons to run America’s Finest City Half – Discount code included!

I just finished the San Diego Craft Classic and I already want to run another summer race. LOL. There are a few summer races left and I’m considering running America’s Finest City….again. I know. I know.  I didn’t have the best AFC experience a few years ago, but I feel like it’s time to redeem myself. I also came up with my top five reasons for others to run it.

  1. It’ll be their 40th anniversary so you know they’ll be pulling out all the stops for this special milestone. I don’t know about you, but I love anniversaries. I’m hoping for a really nice finisher’s medal. 🙂 They promised a custom “40th edition, dazzling finisher’s medal” so I’m pretty excited to see its reveal. It’s rumored to be a spinning disco ball medal. Yay!
  2. This race is the last of the three races that you must complete for the Triple Crown. For those unfamiliar with the Triple Crown challenge, it’s a series of three races (Carlsbad half or full, La Jolla Half, and AFC half) that must be completed within the same calendar year. Once you complete it, you get bragging rights, a ton of photo opps, and a BIG Triple Crown Medal. I completed the series in 2015 and it’s an accomplishment I like bringing up from time to time. LOL. Even if you didn’t do the other two races, doing the AFC this year will prepare you for next year. 🙂

    2015-08-18 20.02.43
    Carlsbad, La Jolla, America’s Finest City (AFC), and my Triple Crown medal from 2015
  3. The neighborhood support is great. San Diego races are awesome. People wake up at the crack of dawn to cheer on friends and strangers alike. The volunteers and neighbors come out and bring their A game even in the summer. When I ran this race, I was having a tough time regulating my body temperature. It was hot and I wasn’t used to summer running. However, at mile 10, there was a volunteer group that grilled up mini sliders for all the runners. Can you believe that? They were grilling up food for us in the heat! If that isn’t dedication, I don’t know what is.
  4. The course is a pretty scenic point-to-point course. I love these types of courses. It’s the best way to see a city. 🙂 You start off at the historic Cabrillo National Monument in Point Loma, run by the Embarcadero along the bay into downtown, and finish in Balboa Park. If you’re a tourist, this is the best way to end a race. Balboa Park always has something going on during the weekends. There are yoga classes, museums, street performers, and beautiful gardens.17309657_1627117090637954_1504000611218057106_n
  5. And this year, they’ve also included complimentary Ballast Point beer and Rubio’s chips, salsa, and guacamole in the finish line beer garden. Run for beer anyone?

If you’re interested in running a summer half marathon in San Diego (and I mean, who wouldn’t), you should definitely look into the AFC. You can also use the code “BIBRAVEAFC20” to save $20 off the registration for the half marathon. Even if you’re not ready for the half marathon, AFC also has a 5k option if you want to try part of the route. The half marathon and 5k are at $115 and $45, respectively, through July 19th so sign up before the price increase!

If you’re worried about the heat, think of it this way. Once you cross that finish line, every other half marathon will be a piece of cake. 🙂 Seriously.

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 reasons to run America’s Finest City Half – Discount code included!

Leave a Reply

