Posted in Running, Thoughts

It’s Heating Up – Wrapping up July

I feel like I’m writing this monthly recaps every other week! I guess time flies when you’re swamped with work. LOL. I did have a bit of fun too. Oh and running, there was a lot of running involved.

Graduate School – July will be my last full month as a graduate student. My defense is set for Wednesday, August 23rd and can I say that I’m STRESSED BEYOND BELIEF. I’m still busily writing my dissertation. It’s a bit frustrating to read pages and pages of findings only to summarize it in two or three sentences. Although I’m not making bounds of progress, I’m making progress and that’s all that matters. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. I’m also in the midst of applying for jobs as well and well, you know how that goes.

Comic-Con – If you didn’t know, I consider myself a nerd. I grew up playing video games (Final Fantasy, Diablo II, Heroes of Might and Magic, Street Fighter, etc) and nowdays, you can find me playing board games (Bang, Machi Koro, King of Tokyo, etc). I used to watch a few animes and am now more interested in super heroes. So when registration for Comic-Con came out, you know I had to try and get a ticket. Luckily, I got one. πŸ™‚

I even cosplayed for the event. Made my costume completely from scratch (minus the wig). I started out with a white shirt, dyed it with RIT-dye, cut it up, and made my mask (on my head) with paper mache.

IMG_1139
I’m Nelliel from Bleach!
I had a blast walking around the exhibition hall looking at all the cool artwork and seeing all the other cosplays. I didn’t see any famous people this time around, but I did meet up with LOTS of people (even one cool community manager from BibRave who came all the way from Australia!). Below are some of the cool things I saw.

IMG_1396
(Left to right, top to bottom) Lumpy Space Princess aka Erin from BibRave; Liana Hee artwork; Gogo, Hiro, and Honey Lemon; Vuduberi artwork; Aku Aku from Crash Bandicoot (LOVE THIS GAME), and a lot of Yummy World plushies

IMG_1395
(Left to right, top to bottom) Star Lord and Mantis, Deadpool, Pikachu, Big Boy, one of the professors from Pokemon (who actually gave out miniature pokemon!), and Aladdin

IMG_1397
(Left to right, top to bottom) Autumn Fredrickson artwork , Mega Construx Pokemon, a Gudetama plushie, Rick and the Butter robot from Rick and Morty, and Crabapple and Pork chomp plushies from Inki-drop
Running – I LOGGED 158 MILES THIS MONTH! Yes, you read that right. With marathon training, I almost doubled the mileage I was running in previous months and never did I think I was capable of logging that many miles in a month. I would see everyone’s monthly mileage and think, wow, they’re insane. And now, I’m one of the insane ones. I kind of like it. LOL. In other running news, I ran my 15th half marathon this month at the San Diego Craft Classic. Oh, I also registered a team for the SoCal Ragnar Relay so that’s happening next April. Oh man, what did I do? Have I gone insane? Probably, but I think it’s a good kind of insane. πŸ™‚

How was your July? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a graduate student pursuing a PhD in biology. When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland.

18 thoughts on “It’s Heating Up – Wrapping up July

  1. So much happened for you in July, so exciting! First of all, congrats on your mileage!! That is amazing! And that comicon… I was “watching” you make your costume but couldn’t guess it for the life of me. You look great!! I like to think myself as bit of a “nerd” too, so total respect. I love video games and watch anime with my child (okay, my 12yo). I think if I could, I’d like to go to comicon as Luna. You win a prize if you can guess the video game (okay, not really, but still…😁)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe, I think Luna is a popular name in the gaming world, πŸ˜ƒ. I was thinking Luna from Kingdoms Hearts, but then there’s Luna from Final Fantasy X. Katara is from Avatar: The Last Air Bender.

        I watch all kinds with my child, some of which I can’t remember the names, but right now we’re watching Attack on Titan and Sword Art Online. I do actually enjoy the shows, but it’s also quality time spent doing something he wants to do. πŸ€—

        Like

      2. Ah! I’ve never seen Attack on Titan, but I know the premise and I think it’s a very interesting concept. I wonder if we would survive in that world since we’re runners. πŸ˜› Maybe we can outrun the Titans? haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice post and way to go on your miles. I liked your comicon pics! I wonder how many runners are gamers too? I only write about running (so far) but maybe you saw our game at the show? Spider-Man PS4. Good luck on your training! Looking forward to your race report.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

