Posted in Running, Thoughts

4 days til SeaWheeze

In 4 days, I’ll be able to say the following two things:

1. I ran Lululemon’s SeaWheeze half marathon.

2. And I ran it in another country.

Okay, Vancouver isn’t too far from San Diego, but I’m still counting it. πŸ™‚ This race popped up on my radar sometime last year and after looking into it, it made it onto my bucket list race list.

Why you ask?

Well, I’m going to be honest with you here. A large part of it was because I heard it was so difficult to get into and trust me, it was. On Nov, 16, 2016, thousands of yogis/runners descended down on the SeaWheeze registration site and made it crash. LOL. I was one of those thousands of people and within minutes of registration opening, I was greeted with a webpage that said “Tickets have been sold out.” My jaw dropped as it was literally MINUTES into registration. I immediately went to their facebook page and asked if tickets were actually sold out. Turns out, they hadn’t. There was a glitch or glitches in their system. People were getting their credit cards rejected (despite typing the number in correctly), getting kicked out of the waiting room, or just getting the sold out webpage. After what seemed like a hundred refreshes on my computer, I was able to secure a ticket. Whew. I know. FOMO (fear of missing out) is real.

Tip #1: If you get redirected to a sold out webpage, hit refresh about a hundred times. You might get lucky and get onto the registration page. 

Other noteworthy things about the SeaWheeze race? Well, instead of the usual technical tee, you get a pair of Lululemon Seawheeze limited edition running shorts to train in over spring/summer. That’s right. They mail it to you.

img_1611
Lululemon shorts are so comfy, but why did these have to have eyes on them!?!?
Tip #2 Make sure to select the appropriate size of shorts when registering for the race. I chose the incorrect ones and they wouldn’t change the size even though I emailed them minutes after confirming my ticket. I have to wait until the expo to change out the size. Lame.

The post-race festival is one huge yoga party. Makes sense, right? SeaWheeze is organized by Lululemon afterall. What better way to celebrate than with stretching those weary muscles. I’m not a huge yoga person so this will be an interesting event to attend. This year, their headliner is Young the Giant with guests Cold War Kids. I’m not going to lie. I have no idea who these people are, but I’m set on having a good time anyway.

Oh and you know how most races will reveal their medals months in advance? Yeah, not SeaWheeze. You see your medal at the finish line. Hopefully it’s a good one this year. Last year’s was gorgeous.

Anyway, I have my lodging and flights booked, but have done no other planning. 😦 Planning is usually my favorite part, but because I’ve been so swamped with grad school, I haven’t had a chance to look into things.

So here’s where I need your help. Have you been to Vancouver and if you have, do you have any suggestions for things to do or places to eat at? I will only be there for a few days (2 full days) so time is limited so your top notch places to hit up would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance! πŸ™‚ 

 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

17 thoughts on “4 days til SeaWheeze

  1. We went to Scoozis Bar & Grill on Howe Street for pre-race dinner; Sciue Italian Bakery Caffe for day-after breakfast; The Keg on Dunsmuir for dinner; and some really fun pub for celebration. All had fabulous food. Hope you have a wonderful time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best of luck and have a great time in Vancouver! We had an awesome weekend there when we ran the RnR Vanouver half a couple years ago…looks like Paula has already shared a few of the spots that we visited but there are so many to choose from! Stanley Park is awesome and I’m sure the race goes by or through there at some point. Shops, cafes, bars, and restaurants are fantastic and so many choices!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So excited!! This is going to be my first SeaWheeze and first time to Vancouver (and I only live an hour-ish flight away! lol). So, I don’t really have any suggestions either because grad school has taken up my planning time… which, I usually over plan, so this time feels weird. I’m hoping to do Grouse Grind, see the beach, and eat sushi while I’m there for a short visit. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to read about how your race/trip goes!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wrote a long comment and it didn’t stay! hahaha Excited to hear about your trip, I’m also heading to SeaWheeze and Vancouver for the first time. I hope to do Grouse Mountain and have some sushi. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did get your previous message! That’s so crazy you only live an hour-ish flight away and have never been. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to visit the grouse grind. Someone told me not to do it before the half and I’m leaving the day after it. Hopefully I’ll still get to see other stuff while I’m there. Wheee πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

