Posted in Running, Thoughts

I love Rock n’ Roll…races

Disclaimer: I received an entry into the Rock ‘N’ Roll Los Angeles Half marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro(ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews! All opinions are my own. 

I started this post over a month ago and kept forgetting to finish it. LOL. Oops. But now that I’ve graduated (Hooray!), I will have a little more time to talk to you about some of my upcoming races. I only have a few left for the year with the big one being the Chicago marathon, of course. After Chicago, I will have two Rock N’ Roll races, both of which I’ve never run before so it’ll be pretty exciting.

The first Rock ‘N’ Roll (RnR) race will be RnR Los Angeles, which this post will focus on. (The other race will be RnR Vegas and I’ll post about that later). I’ve been to LA more times than I can count, but I’ve never really explored the city by foot so this will be a fun one to run. It’ll be nice to actually NOT be stuck in traffic for hours. LOL. The Rock ‘N’ Roll race series know how to organize a great race. My first half marathon was one of theirs in San Diego. It was so much fun that I have gone on to run 16 more half marathons since then.

201706-RnR-Medals-1043-LRG
Isn’t the medal pretty???
In addition to looking forward to running by all the sights, I’m looking forward to exploring their Health and Fitness expos. I know it sounds weird, but I just LOVE meandering through aisles and looking at things. I don’t necessarily buy any of it, but it’s just so interesting to see what different products there are out there. Also, the energy is contagious. There are a lot of first time half marathoners and you can just tell how excited they are when they hold up their bib for their photo opp. RnR Health and Fitness Expos are probably one of the largest out there and I could probably spend a few hours there.

This particular race is Halloween themed so there are a lot of people who dress up for this race. The Cosplayer in me in still figuring out what to wear for the race. I’ve never dressed up for a race before so I have to figure out what I’m comfortable running in. I do not want to be chafing all 13.1 miles. That would just be brutal. I’m thinking Velma from Scooby Doo or maybe even Tigger.

Discount: If you want to run Rock N Roll LA, you can use the code “BIBRAVE15” to save $15 off the half marathon registration. This code is valid until 10/22/17 when online registration closes.

Question for you: Have you ever dressed up for a race? Is there any advice you could give me on picking a costume that will NOT chafe? I’ve seen a bunch of people wear tutus, but someone mentioned that it’s not very comfortable. Any advice is highly appreciated!

 

