Posted in BibRave Reviews, Running, Thoughts

Snack time – Health Warrior Bars

Disclaimer: I received  Health Warrior bars as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro(ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews! All opinions are my own.

With the holiday season among us, it is tempting to just let yourself go and eat all the comfort food in sight. I know. It happens to me every. single. year. I indulge myself on Thanksgiving and then again at holiday parties and before you know it January 1st rolls around and “Eat healthier” is on most people’s New Year’s Resolution list. LOL. Every damn year.

Enter the Health Warrior Bars. These bars are nutritionally dense consisting mostly of Chia seeds and are a nice alternative to unhealthy snacking. They come in several different flavors – Chocolate Peanut Butter, Vanilla Almond, Mango, Coconut, Dark Chocolate, and Banana Nut – to name just a few.

IMG_3710

I got the pleasure of trying out their Chocolate Peanut Butter and Vanilla Almond and was pleasantly surprised by how they tasted. Do note that when I say that they consist mostly of Chia seeds, that is exactly what I mean. My mom would be proud. She’s been trying to get me to incorporate Chia seeds into my diet for a year now and I’ve finally found a good way of doing that. LOL. Out of the two, the Vanilla Almond was my favorite. The flavor was sweeter to me without being overbearing and it actually reminded me of sweetened soymilk, which I’m a huge fan of. The Chocolate Peanut Butter one was also nice, but I felt like I tasted the flavor more at the end, which was a little disappointing. I’ve been eating these as a pick me up when I’m at work and I’m craving some unhealthy potato chips….yum. They’ve saved me plenty of times from the vending machine at my workplace. LOL.

IMG_3781
Coffee and Health Warrior Bars – Perfect combo

These bars are 100 calories each with only 4 to 5 grams of sugar each. So they won’t give you a huge sugar high and you won’t come crashing down. They’re also high in fiber! Hooray! If these bars aren’t your cup of tea, they have two other types of bars. There’s one made of pumpkin seeds and a protein bar. 🙂

IMG_3750
Pre-race bars

HealthWarrior prides themselves on packing a ton of superfoods into each of their bars. As I mentioned previously, the basis of their bars consists of Chia, which has a ton of omega-3s (more than salmon). Chia has more protein than an egg, more calcium than milk, and more fiber than flax. Holy crap. To learn more about the superfoods they add into their bars, head on over to their website.

ALSOOOOO, when you purchase bars from their website, they’re including a free coloring book that highlights the highs and lows of running in a humorous twist. So if you want to take a break and let your inner child run loose, this is the coloring book for you. Just use this link right here if you want to get that coloring book with your bars.

IMG_4001
Letting my inner child out

To read more about what other BibRave Pros had to say about these bars, click below.

Casey – Stephanie – Paula – Brenda – Matt – Amy – Jessica – Janelle – Lindsey – Emily – Samantha – Angie – Nicole

So how do you curb your comfort food cravings and what’s your favorite nutrition bar? 

Author:

My name is Mai and I am a recent PhD graduate. :) When not hard at work, I can be found training for a race, traveling the world, or talking about Disneyland. Come join me on my journey and help me navigate this world. :)

2 thoughts on “Snack time – Health Warrior Bars

Leave a comment